OPERATION BELIEVE
A Project to Prevent
Sexual Assault in the Military

 

From the Operation Believe web site…

“What is this? Why did we feel the need to start such a project?

On February 15, 2011, seventeen service members and veterans filed a lawsuit against the Pentagon saying that servicemen get away with rape and other sexual abuse and victims are too often ordered to continue to serve alongside those they say attacked them. If being raped was not bad enough what happened after reporting the assault is just mind boggling.”

Read the 110-Things-to-Prevent-Sexual-Assault
you can do at Operation Believe.

 

“If I told them that my house was broken into not one person would question me, blame me or say that I am lying, but when I say that my body was broken into people automatic feel that they have the right to judge me, doubt me and blame me.”

Survivors of military sexual trauma are often met with disbelief after reporting the assault. Many survivors report being told that they are at fault or did something to provoke an assault. What were you wearing and why did you go out drinking? They are often questioned on their motives on reporting the assault-Are you trying to ruin a man’s career?

Military sexual trauma is a readiness issue that affects every single person in the United States Armed Forces. It is also the responsibility of everyone from the private or non-rate to the General and Admirals to promote a culture that won’t tolerate sexual harassment, sexual assault, rape and the re-victimization of survivors that report abuse.

To visit the Operation Believe web site to learn more about the project and how you can take part, click here.

